a gavel and a name plate with the engraving assaultWere you charged with assault in Utah? Need an assault attorney to represent you? Ensure your rights and know how to address assault charges in Utah.

Assault is a severe charge in Utah and can result in prison, jail time, or significant fines. A conviction can cause a loss of privileges for years to come. At Gordon Law Group, our Heber Valley lawyer aims to represent you fairly and ensure your rights are not violated.

Charges for Assault in Utah

Utah Codes 76-1-601 and 76-5-103 deal with the topic of assault. The circumstances of the assault will play a significant role in the charge.

There are several levels of assault charges to be aware of that can result in a Class B misdemeanor to a second-degree felony.

Straightforward, called “simple,” assault is typically a Class B misdemeanor with fines up to $1,000 and six months in jail. It can be elevated to Class A, however, if the act causes substantial bodily injury or the victim is a pregnant woman. A Class A misdemeanor will carry up to $2,500 in fines and a year in jail.

The next level of an assault charge is “aggravated” assault. Statute 76-5-103 indicates that aggravated assault includes the use of a dangerous weapon. A weapon that qualifies as “dangerous” is any weapon that can cause grave bodily harm or death.

Aggravated assault is a second-degree felony. It carries a prison sentence of 1-15 years and could result in up to $10,000 in fines.

It is possible to receive multiple counts of assault for the same incident if various parties were involved. The charges add together and can add time and money instead of being served simultaneously.

The threat of violence or assault is also considered a crime and can result in criminal charges. Other offenses that can fall under assault include harassment, stalking, child abuse, reckless endangerment, propelling a bodily substance, or abuse of a vulnerable adult.

It is not a comprehensive list but is meant to illustrate that you may find yourself looking at an assault charge from different scenarios. If you have a previous conviction, that may affect the charge you are facing and upgrade it.

Your Rights and How an Assault Defense Lawyer Can Help You

If you are convicted of assault, you will likely serve prison time and need to pay fines and costs. You will need an assault attorney to represent you.

This is especially important if you have a self-defense claim to ensure you receive just support. A lawyer will break down legalese to help you understand and address the situation.

Even after a ruling, you may be able to appeal your case. An appeal is a challenge that you, as the defendant, can file to challenge a previous legal decision. The purpose of an appeal is to protect you in the case of a prejudicial legal error or a verdict unsupported by insufficient evidence.

The Gordon Law Group evaluates your options and ensures your rights are respected. As a Heber Utah attorney, we specialize in Utah criminal law and use that expertise to help you. The appeals process can be complicated, and a criminal appeals lawyer can help you navigate the waters.

You have the right to appeal your case to a higher court, and we are here to help you along the way.

Contact Gordon Law Group at (435) 657-0984 to discuss your case today. Remember, you have legal rights that anyone should not violate. You can trust your law case with our experienced team.